Boeing 737 MAX 8

Ethiopian Airlines Crash leads to Banning of Boeing’s 737 MAX 8 in Various Countries

The operation of the Boeing’s 737 MAX has been suspended in many countries followed by the latest Ethiopian airline crash carrying passengers from more than 30 countries that took place on 10 March 2019. A barely four month old flight Boeing 737 MAX 8 crashed shortly after it took off from Addis Ababa Bole International Airport, Ethiopia on the way to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport in Nairobi killing all 157 people on board. Before this incident, a similar accident took place during October 2018 in Indonesia, where a brand new 737 MAX 8 crashed leading to 180 people losing their lives.

The history of similar occurrences killing hundreds of passengers and crew members has led many countries to suspend the airlines until they are safer to fly. According to FAA, the Federal Aviation Administration, they didn’t find any basis to suspend the airlines based on the review stating that no systemic performance issues were discovered. But these justifications didn’t stop most of the airline officials to ban the aircraft from flying in or over their airspace.

The countries that have grounded the flight’s operation include Australia, China, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Middle East, Egypt, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, UAE, Africa, Namibia, Europe and Serbia. Some of the other airlines that are still in operation were restricted by airspace bans.

Daniela is America News Hour journalist and an expert in Finance, agricultural investments, economics, financial markets, new media, international relations & politics. Daniela has been a writer and editor for the past 11 years. She started out as a freelance content writer. Today, her articles have been picked up by major and local news sources and websites such as the CNET, Engadget, BuzzFeed and many more.

Leave a Reply